Clarification on a number of playing rules

The FISTF Sports Department have written to each national association to clarify a number of rules. Please read through these rules and check they are in-line with how you are playing. Please get in touch if you are unsure.

The list of the rules discussed is the following:

A) Rule 8.1.5.1:

Every touch of the ball by the goalkeeper (including a save) or by the spare-goalkeeper adds up to the maximum three flicks the goalkeeper is allowed to take.

Examples:

1.   If the goalkeeper has already touched the ball one time, the attacker may flick his spare-goalkeeper at the ball only two more times.

2.   If the goalkeeper has already touched the ball three times in a row, the attacker may not use his spare-goalkeeper, unless he touches the ball with another playing figure.

3.   If the goalkeeper touches the ball more than once when making a save, a single touch shall be counted.

Explanation: The rule says that every touch of the ball by the goalkeeper on rod always counts as an attacking flick.

B) Rule 13.2.1

If, by an attacking move, the played playing figure moves from non-offside position into offside position, there shall be no offside for this playing figure as long as the ball is moving: passive offside. However, this playing figure may not play the ball again until the ball has stopped.

Rule 13.2.2

An attacking playing figure is considered to be in non-offside position at the moment it takes a corner-flick. Therefore, the passive offside rule always applies to a playing figure which takes a corner-flick.

Explanation: The rule says that the passive offside applies only to the attacking playing figure which plays the ball. Any other attacking playing figure which is in offside position when the ball is last played, is declared offside even if the ball is still moving. In case of a corner-flick, the attacking playing figure which takes the corner-flick is never declared offside as long as the ball is still moving. However, no other attacking playing figure in offside position is protected by the passive offside rule.

C) Rule 5.3.3

After having touched the ball, the attacking playing figure may touch any other attacking playing figure, a goalkeeper or the defender’s body before coming to rest. However, the attacker’s flick may not cause (either directly or indirectly) the displacement of two or more defending playing figures standing completely inside the defender’s half.

Explanation: The rule says that “smashing” is given only if at least two defending playing figures inside the defender’s half are touched by the attacking playing figure which played the ball (directly), or by any other deflected playing figure (indirectly). Example: An attacking playing figure plays the ball and after that it hits one defending figure in the attacker’s half and then another defending figure in the defender’s half. This is not smashing.

However, defending playing figures that are displaced by the ball (directly) or by any other playing figure moved by the ball (indirectly), are not considered to be “smashed”. Example: An attacking playing figure plays the ball and then the ball moves another attacking figure which in turn hits two defending figures in the defender’s half. This is not smashing.

Leave a Reply